Loader Image
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Get social with us!

Project Steering Committee (PSC)

The Project Steering Committee is the highest decision-making body composed of representatives of AfDB, African Ministers of Agriculture of participating RMCs, the various CG Centers, the Private sector, NARES and regional farmer organizations. The committee provides oversight functions to Regional Technology Delivery Infrastructure (RTDI).  All annual work programs will be cleared by the PSC prior to funding.

Programme Management Unit (PMU)

The Project Management Unit will oversees day-to-day implementation of project fiduciary and administrative activities. It also organizes the transfer of project resources to the institutions leading the commodity value chains; coordinate the compilation and review of reports from value chains and enablers for submission to the Bank; and elaborate/implement administrative and financial management guidelines/template to be used across.

The decision to pursue TAAT through a consortium of CGIAR Centers, the National Agricultural Research Systems (NARES), and their Umbrella body, FARA, donors, and development centers was decided at the High Level Conference on Feed Africa held in Dakar, Senegal, October 21-23, 2015. At that meeting, the International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), being the oldest CGIAR center in Africa and the center with the most geographical spread – 20 sub-stations across the continent, was selected to coordinate the TAAT platform or the Regional Technology Delivery Infrastructure (RTDI).  IITA is therefore the Executing Agency (EA). IITA has set up a small Program Management Unit (PMU) to undertake fiduciary functions.

Clearinghouse (C-house)

The Clearinghouse is the main decision making body of the RDTI when it comes to selecting which technologies to disseminate and scale up. It will be substantially autonomous. The objective of the Clearinghouse is to decide which proven agricultural technologies proposed by each Crop/Livestock compact group can be rolled out and taken to scale. The activities of the Clearinghouse include evaluating requests from the compacts for technologies to be rolled out and scaled up. This will be akin to a peer review mechanism of the proposed technologies; validating the design and plan with stakeholders for a buy-in and commitment; identifying the optimal mix of partners that will accompany the implementation, backstopping and monitoring of the proposed plan; in collaboration with the RMCs, conduct monitoring and assessment of milestones and Performance Indicators; and in collaboration with the Bank, advising Governments and private actors on investment opportunities and financing mechanisms for going to scale.

Commodity Technology Delivery Compacts

At the heart of TAAT’s technology deployment effort is the Crop/Livestock Technology Delivery Compact (CTDC).  CTDC is an agreement between the CGIAR center with mandate for the commodity value chain, NARES, the RMCs and the entire ecosystem of value chain actors—from input supplier, processors, aggregators, equipment manufacturers, extension agencies, etc.  The CTDC drives the implementation of TAAT activities for each of the nine priority commodities. RMCs who indicate interest in accessing and deploying at scale technologies for the commodity in question, can become a part of the compact. Request from the CTDCs for deployment of a list of technologies and resources required will be submitted to the RTDI, specifically the Program Steering Committee (PSC), who will work in tandem with the clearing house to review and approve the appropriate technologies.

The day-to-day management of the CTDCs is left to the various Lead Centers. African Agriculture Technology Foundation (AATF), IITA, and CIMMYT are leading the Water Efficient Maize Production; AfricaRice and IWMI shall lead the activities within the Rice Self-sufficiency; IITA leads Cassava Intensification; ICRISAT leads in Sahel Food Security; ILRI leads on livestock; World Fish leads on fish initiative; ICARDA is responsible for Wheat Self-sufficiency. AATF provides Policy support to the various institutions on policy issues that enhance successful program implementation and the attainment of the expected widespread and transformational impact. AATF also works with other institutions that contribute to agricultural development policy work, including ‘The African Seed Access Index (TASAI)’, and African Technology Policy Study Network Program (ATPS).

Forum for Agricultural Research in Africa (FARA) undertakes capacity building at all levels within partner institutions and within the Priority Intervention Areas (PIAs) and their value chains. FARA ensures that the thematic content of capacity development activities and modules are designed and administered in consultation with appropriate and qualified entities, including relevant and participating CGIAR Centers. FARA also undertakes its activities in consultation with each program initiative team and report to the Clearinghouse. An Activity Plan for each initiative will provide detailed work plans.

The National Agricultural Research and Extension Services (NARES) will be the primary delivery agent for the deployment of the selected technologies, in close consultation with the Government Ministries of Agriculture to ensure country buy-in. This will be supported by private sector entities and relevant donor/partner programs in the respective countries. These delivery channels include the AGRA supported input dealer network, the World Bank supported West African Agricultural Productivity Program (WAAPP) and similar programs in other regions. Support from CGIAR Centers Value Chain Leaders will be transactional, value for money and demonstrable benefits, supporting national institutions to roll out validated and branded technologies.